Plus De 4722 Album Sur FoorZik2.

David Bowie – Station To Station

2 921 vues

Ecouter Album : David Bowie – Station To Station Mp3


Album: Station To Station

Poste le: 29-07-2013 @ 8:11

Genre: Rock

Vues: 2 921 Fois

Station to Station is the tenth studio album by English musician David Bowie, released by RCA Records in 1976. Commonly regarded as one of his most significant works, Station to Station was the vehicle for his last great character, The Thin White Duke. The album was recorded after he completed shooting Nicolas Roeg’s The Man Who Fell to Earth, and the cover artwork featured a still from the movie. During the sessions Bowie was heavily dependent on drugs, especially cocaine, and recalls almost nothing of the production.

Musically, Station to Station was a transitional album for Bowie, developing the funk and soul music of his previous release, Young Americans, while presenting a new direction towards synthesisers and motorik rhythms that was influenced by German electronic bands such as Kraftwerk and Neu!. This trend culminated in some of his most acclaimed work, the so-called ‘Berlin Trilogy’, recorded with Brian Eno in 1977–79. Bowie himself has said that Station to Station was « a plea to come back to Europe for me ». The album’s lyrics reflected his preoccupations with Nietzsche, Aleister Crowley, mythology and religion.

With its blend of funk and Krautrock, romantic balladry and occultism, Station to Station has been described as « simultaneously one of Bowie’s most accessible albums and his most impenetrable ». Preceded by the single « Golden Years », it made the top five in both the UK and US charts. In 2003, the album was ranked #323 on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.

Track listing

All songs written by David Bowie, except where noted.

Side one

  1. « Station to Station » – 10:14
  2. « Golden Years » – 4:00
  3. « Word on a Wing » – 6:03

Side two

  1. « TVC 15 » – 5:33
  2. « Stay » – 6:15
  3. « Wild Is the Wind » (Ned Washington, Dimitri Tiomkin) – 6:02